Asymptotes as the lines y=x an y=-x

Hi there.

I'm a maths teacher and today was having a discussion with my Head of Department about asymptotes (as you do!)

She was me if I could think on an equation of a graph(s) which has an asymptotes at the line y=x and another at y=-x.

Thinking about it, neither of us could come up with anything. It's really bugging me now. I ain't too sure if there is such a function...though it seems silly there not being.

The only way I managed to get a graph like what I wanted was to rotate the graph of y=1/x by various angles.

So can such a graph exist? Is it possible to transform equations of graphs via rotations (something I can't ever remember doing)?

Hope I can come up with an answer by tomorrow :)

How about

[tex]y = x \tanh{x}[/tex] ?

as

[tex] x \tanh{x} = x \frac{e^x - e^{-x}}{e^x + e^{-x}}[/tex]

therefore, for large positive x,

[tex]x \tanh{x} \approx x \frac{e^x}{e^x} = x[/tex]

and for large negative x

[tex] x \tanh{x} \approx x (\frac{-e^{-x}}{e^{-x}}) = -x[/tex]

arildno

Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
Dogtanian said:
Hi there.

I'm a maths teacher and today was having a discussion with my Head of Department about asymptotes (as you do!)

She was me if I could think on an equation of a graph(s) which has an asymptotes at the line y=x and another at y=-x.

Thinking about it, neither of us could come up with anything. It's really bugging me now. I ain't too sure if there is such a function...though it seems silly there not being.

The only way I managed to get a graph like what I wanted was to rotate the graph of y=1/x by various angles.

So can such a graph exist? Is it possible to transform equations of graphs via rotations (something I can't ever remember doing)?

Hope I can come up with an answer by tomorrow :)
You certainly can rotate curves!

For example, the curve described by the equation:
[tex]x^{2}-y^{2}=1[/tex]
has asymptotes y=x and y=-x.