At almost 39 am i to old to study BSc Physics

In summary: I am grateful for your insights into the opportunities that are available to someone with a Physics degree.In summary, it is worth it to study Physics, especially if you are motivated and have the ability.
riz1977
Hi
I am 38 yrs old, I have a grade A in A-level mathematics, grade A in both Mathematics and Physics at GCSE, an average IQ (if their is indeed such a thing lol) and have always been interested in Physics but was talked out of pursuing it when I was younger by an arrogant relative who was a Physics grad from Imperial who stated you have to be intellectually outstanding to succeed and find employment in this field, I regretfully listened to his advice, however recently I have got this urge to pursue an Open Uni course in Physics, it will cost a fair bit, yet I would like to know what kind of opportunities if any, would await me if I graduated since the only work experience I possesses is working in a Natwest call centre and the family takeaway business.
Since I have been out of education for many years ,would the work be too challenging for a individual of generally regular ability though somewhat decent mathematical ability.
IS IT WORTH IT? A response would be much appreciated by those in the know.Kudos

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi!

It's never too late to study Physics and it is worth it. I'm not sure much about the Open Uni course on Physics but I can destify that mature students can succeed well. At my university (Salford) we have quite a few mature students, one in their 50s and they do just as well as the students of "normal" age. I'm told that in the 1990s, a woman in her 70s took the course (although I don't know how well she did)!

I know that the mature students have had access into my Uni by doing an access course through their local college as a way to get them up to scratch before going into the first year of the degree - something which may be of interest to you.