Attn: Engineers; Need Help About School

• Thread starter lilleybc
  • Start date
  • Tags
    School
In summary, the conversation discusses a junior student's interest in majoring in engineering, but their current school does not offer an engineering degree. The student presents three options: transferring to a school with an engineering program, studying for a BS in Physics and completing an internship, or studying for a BS in Applied Physics. The conversation also raises questions about the length of a graduate program for a student with a BS in Applied Physics compared to a BS in Mechanical Engineering. The experts advise that transferring to a school with an engineering program would be the best option, as an undergraduate degree in physics may not be helpful for graduate school in engineering and can make it difficult to obtain professional certification.
lilleybc
Greetings,

I am a junior student at a liberal arts college (Pacific Lutheran University) and I am interested in majoring in engineering, but the school does not offer an engineering degree. I have several options as an undergraduate and I wanted to get some advice.

Option I

I could transfer to a school with an undergrad engineering program and spend two years studying for a BS in Mechanical Engineering (probably finish in May 2011). (After that possibly a MS.)

Option II

I could study for a BS in Physics (finish Dec 2009) and complete a semester-long internship at an engineering firm (Spring 2010) and then apply to a grad program for engineering (or forget the internship and apply for a grad program and take undergrad engineering courses in the spring).

Option III

I could study for a BS in Applied Physics (finish in May 2010) and then apply to a grad program.

Also, about how long would a grad program take me to complete from a BS (Applied) Physics (I assume I will need basic undergrad engineering courses?) compared to a student with a BS in Mechanical Engineering?