1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Attn: Engineers; Need Help About School!

1. Dec 29, 2008 #1
    Greetings,

I am a junior student at a liberal arts college (Pacific Lutheran University) and I am interested in majoring in engineering, but the school does not offer an engineering degree. I have several options as an undergraduate and I wanted to get some advice.

Option I

I could transfer to a school with an undergrad engineering program and spend two years studying for a BS in Mechanical Engineering (probably finish in May 2011). (After that possibly a MS.)

Option II

I could study for a BS in Physics (finish Dec 2009) and complete a semester-long internship at an engineering firm (Spring 2010) and then apply to a grad program for engineering (or forget the internship and apply for a grad program and take undergrad engineering courses in the spring).

Option III

I could study for a BS in Applied Physics (finish in May 2010) and then apply to a grad program.

Also, about how long would a grad program take me to complete from a BS (Applied) Physics (I assume I will need basic undergrad engineering courses?) compared to a student with a BS in Mechanical Engineering?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Specifically I am looking for an working engineer's perspective on what is important.

Thanks,
    Ben

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 29, 2008 #2
    If mechanical engineering is your intented career path and you plan to pursue graduate school in this area you may consider transfering to the Unviersity of Washington. It is a great school and will be a hell of alot cheaper than PLU. Downtown seattle is across the bridge from campus too.