Aurora/Magnetosphere Physics PhD programs? (Texas)

In summary, the conversation is about a 24-year-old student studying for a BS in Physics with a particular interest in theoretical astrophysics/astronomy and auroras. They are looking for schools that offer doctoral degrees in the field, preferably in Texas, and welcome any advice. The conversation also touches on the possibility of studying space plasma physics and the availability of such programs at various universities, including University of Alberta in Canada and University of Houston, UT Dallas, and UT Arlington in Texas.
zk3381
Hey everyone, I'm a 24 year old junior working on a BS in Physics. (Like everyone else) my main interest is theoretical astrophysics/astronomy. I'm a good student (3.2) and work at the observatory at my school and do a couple of other various jobs in the Physics department. I am particularly interested in studying auroras and I was wondering if anyone knew of some schools that might offer doctoral degrees in that area? I've done some research and haven't come up with a ton of stuff. The main one I found was University of Alaska Fairbanks (?) and I definitely do not want to live in Alaska for even a minute as I hate the cold. I'd prefer to stay in Texas. UT Austin and Rice are obviously choices but not everyone can get in there so I was curious about what some other options might be. Any constructive advice would be appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
So it sounds like you want space plasma physics? Or only specifically work related to auroras? University of Alberta in Canada has a few faculty doing work directly related to auroras, if you are willing to move to Canada. Note that if you want to study auroras, you will likely have to visit northern climates to observe them, so you should be more open-minded about the location of the universities you might apply to.