Basic Vibration Damping and Isolation

In summary, resonance appears to be when an excitation frequency coincides with a natural frequency, giving rise to a large (or unbounded if no damping) response. Rubber is a "lossy" material meaning that when a piece of rubber is deformed, the energy input is larger than the energy recovered when the deformation is released. Rubber it self has no natural frequency; a natural frequency is a system property depending on the stiffness and inertia of the system. Isolation seems to refer to preventing energy or force transferring from one system and into another. Transmissibility seems to be a rating for how easily energy passes through a material or system, and it
thender
Hello,

I am studying and trying to understand Powertrain / Engine mounts used in automotive such as these:

http://images.gasgoo.com/MiMwMDRfMDA0Izc4MDA3NzIwMA--/auto-part-engine-torque-strut-mount-engine-mounting-for-buick-enclave-chevrolet-traverse-gmc-acadia-25840458.jpg

http://www.carid.com/images/westar/engine-parts/em-2838s.jpgIt is really hard to even get terminology straight.

Damping and Dampening both seem to refer to a means by which vibration energy is canceled out or absorbed.

Isolation seems to refer to preventing energy or force transferring from one system and into another.

And transmissibility seems to be a rating for how easily energy passes through a material or system, and it seems it is normally drawn over a spectrum of frequencies.

Where there will be some point where vibration actually increases, like at resonance, and then tapers off sharply into fully damped "isolation".

Resonant frequency or natural frequency seems to describe a frequency at which an object or system would tend to vibrate at. I get the impression that at a natural frequency the repeating motion of the vibration reinforces itself, whereas at other frequencies is damped out by losses.