Becoming a non-traditional engineering student

In summary, the speaker is a 33-year-old car salesman who hates his job and wants to pursue a career in science. He has decided to go back to school and is interested in a degree in Aerospace Engineering. He is considering starting at a community college to save money, but is concerned about the impact on his future job prospects. He is also looking for entry-level jobs that can help him transition into an engineering job while he goes to school. The speaker has received advice to hold onto his current job until he finds a better one or is fully committed to pursuing a degree in Aerospace Engineering. The speaker is motivated to make a career change and is open to considering other programs that may offer financial aid.
flat6
Hey everyone,

I come here seeking some advice. I'm 33 years old and I hate my job. I've been working in car sales for 6 years now. The money is great, and I used to be really good at it, however these days I just can't find the motivation to keep doing this job. I feel like I'm literally doing NOTHING with my life. This job is just a means of income for me, but I want something more. I want SCIENCE!

So I've decided to go back to school, and I know it's very late in life to do such a thing, but I'm going for it anyway. When it comes to science, I'm most interested in cosmology, but I just can't see where that would be applicable to actually making a living. That being said, I've decided to pursue a degree in Aerospace Engineering.

When I was a young and rebellious high school student, math came pretty easily to me. I squandered this gift by spending the next 5 years after high school working as an auto mechanic instead of going to college. Now that I'm mature enough to understand what my true interests are, I'm really excited to give college a try. I used to be smart, so I'm hoping I can kick-start my brain and get back into school mode without too much difficulty.