Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Been out of school and working for a few years, want to get PhD, need advice

1. Apr 16, 2010 #1
    I graduated from a top 10 liberal arts school in 2007 with a degree in math. After school, I worked for a year and change as a computer programmer and I'm now employed as an actuary. Getting an advanced degree is an idea I've entertained for a while, and now I want to try and achieve that goal. I'm fed up with the general attitude of most of the people I work with. There is no intellectual curiosity and very little desire to explore new ideas. Everything revolves around maintaining the status quo and pleasing whoever is in a position you want to have in 5-10 years. As an actuary, I have to fulfill a fair amount of academic requirements, but 95% of what I study is never used in the workplace as only the most basic and well understood concepts are utilized professionally.