1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Biology Bioinformatics and Computational Biology? What is it really like?

1. Mar 5, 2012 #1
    Hello, I am a high-school student applying to universities. I like math, and I like bio. I want a career that is the cross-section between these two subjects.

I've been told about computational biology and bioinformatics. Can anyone please share any familiar experiences or any insight related to these programs?
    I want to know about these programs from a more personal and realistic point of view, ex. how satisfied people are with studying computational biology/ bioinformatics, the job prospects (I don't care about salary as long as there are interesting jobs available), what day-to-day tasks are like, etc.

Any help, information, personal experiences, recommendations or insight would be greatly appreciated.

:)

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 5, 2012 #2
    You know when I was applying for graduate schools computational biology and bioinformatics programs within universities had maybe only been on the scene for a few years, but I hear now that some places offer undergraduate programs in bioinformatics which sadly I've also heard you are better off double majoring.

So I guess it really depends on how far you were willing to go in your education.

4. Mar 5, 2012 #3
    I guess it is safe to say it is an emerging field. However, the more I think about all the insecurities in the science-related fields, the more I want to major in applied math. Bioinformatics interests me because it is the application of mathematics into biology, something that seems fascinating to me.

5. Mar 5, 2012 #4