Brain function & bipolar: fluid volume & speed of information in tubes

In summary, the author is trying to explain how brain function changes during different episodes of bipolar disorder. He states that during "highs", people experience extreme flourishes of creativity and critical thinking. He asks a physicist for help understanding a law or rule that could explain this phenomenon. The physicist is unclear about the author's request and asks a number of questions about the author's care and medication schedule.
notaphysicsmajor79
This is a long post with limited amount of physics in it (but it is a physics question, so hopefully it is allowed). I am a scientist but trained as an ecologist (PhD) and despite my long interest in physics, my knowledge of it remains rather rudimentary. Apologies for that, in advance.

I am trying to figure out an actual physics law/rule as a way to explain anecdotal brain function during different episodes of bipolar to someone who would better understand physics than psychology. But all the information I can dig out is too complicated and only considers detailed factors when I am only looking for "yes: x relates to y and z like this" -so I would really appreciate your help!

There are three "levels" in bipolar disorder (when over-simplified): "normal", "low" or "high". During these episodes, various things change, not just mood. People often experience intense flourishes of creativity and critical thinking during "highs" (this is well documented in many famous artists and composers etc) -and I am no exception.

The way I have always explained it to people goes along these lines: