Building a Robot - Need Advices

In summary, the speaker is a second year Engineering Physics student working on building a robot with a team of four students. They are planning to use two motors for the rear wheels and a servo motor with PID control for steering the front wheels. They are considering using two differentials for the rear wheels and are unsure if this is the best option. They also have questions about the shock absorbing system and are currently thinking of using springs. They are seeking advice and potential designs for this system.
Creebe
Hello!

Well I am in second year Engineering Physics and we're building a robot this summer. We have four students in my team including myself. We're to build a robot that follows a loop of black tape on a track, and race with other robots.

I have a few questions:

1. We decided to use two motors to drive the two rear wheels, and use a servo motor with PID control to steer the front two wheels. We're wondering if it's better to use two differentials for the two rear wheels.

2. What kind of shock absorbing system should we use? The robot will probably weight at most 15 pounds. And it will have to jump off of a ramp which is probably 4-6 inches high. I'm thinking of using springs, but I haven't come up with a design yet. It would be great if you could provide a picture.

Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Creebe said:
1. We decided to use two motors to drive the two rear wheels, and use a servo motor with PID control to steer the front two wheels. We're wondering if it's better to use two differentials for the two rear wheels.

If you use two motors for the two rear wheels, why do you need a third motor to steer? Just differentially activate the rear wheels. Replace the front wheels with castors.

Alternately, use one motor to steer and the other to drive one (or both) rear wheels.

Either way, I don't see why you need more than two motors.

your problem points the robot is manually operated.