Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

C++ modelling of axial turbocharger

1. Oct 30, 2012 #1
    HI, i am a student taking final year project in my university, my project title was C++ modelling of axial turbocharger, it was a counter-rotating turbocharger, can anyone help me to get some useful information to complete my project? thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2012 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What part of the turbocharger are you modeling? What result are you hoping for? There's a lot that can be looked at but short of writing your own multiphysics finite element code you'll probably need to limit it to a single physical regime, e.g. heat transfer, fluid flow, mechanical dynamic analysis, etc.

4. Oct 30, 2012 #3
    i am writing the part for the efficiency for the turbocharger, including total to total efficiency, velocity triangle of the rotor blade and smith diagram, stuff like that

5. Oct 30, 2012 #4

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The first thing you need to do is write some equations that describe everything that you want to model.

Once you have those, you can start thinking about how to write a program to solve them, how to display the results graphically, etc.

6. Oct 31, 2012 #5
    but the problem is the turbine and compressor blade of the turbocharger was contra rotating, which have no stator row in it. i have search all over the net and books, but still i not able to come out with the eqaution.

7. Oct 31, 2012 #6

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What excatly do you mean by "counter-rotating"? Two axial fans which are counter-rotating?

8. Oct 31, 2012 #7