Calculate Gravity with Ruzanna from the Netherlands

• B
  • Thread starter Ruzanna
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gravity
In summary: It would be a good idea to do some research about how much g varies over the globe. Then do the experiment several times with the basic same equipment at your own location - but with different string and perhaps a different mounting. Only a few re-runs would be needed. This will give you an idea of the accuracy of this technique. Compare the spread of your results (include the results from @OmCheeto - who has been very helpful, I must say) with the variation that can be found with more accurate methods. Ideally, you would get results from someone in Alaska or Finland and also somewhere Equatorial. You are looking for a consistent spread of only 0.5%, which could be hard with simple...
Ruzanna
Hi everyone,

First of all, I am new to this thing and I hope you guys can help me with this.
So I am Ruzanna, a freshman,(I am 14 years old) and live in the Netherlands.

So, I have this project for physics where I had to make my own pendulum, and use it to calculate the gravity here.
Well I did that. Another part of this project is to talk to someone outside of the Netherlands, who wants to help me and also make a pendulum. Which is basically a rope with a mass on it.
I need you measure the rope. After that you need to hang it somewhere. Then you lift the mass about 10 cm and then let go so it moves, you don't need to push so only gravity is acting. Next thing is you measure how long it takes for the pendulum to make 10 periods (a period means the thing going back and forth ones) and i need that time. With that I would be able to calculate the gravity. It would help me like a lot!
Also it would be amazing if you could film it cause mij teacher wants "prove".

Hope to hears from you guys!

Ruzanna

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi @Ruzana Welcome to PF.
That is one of the cheekiest OP's I have ever read but 10/10 to you for initiative.