Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating Velocity and Its Signs

1. Jun 15, 2010 #1
    Hi, I'm Michael. I am new to Physics. I just learned about velocities from an online website and I still don't quite get it. I know that in order to find velocity, I have to take the the displacement and divide it by time:
    V = (delta)d / (delta) t

Here's what I am confused about. Let's say I walk 50 km East, and then 20 km West in 2 hours. My displacement would be +30 km because of final - initial (50 - 20 = +30). Thus, my velocity would be 15 km/h.

Now let's say I walk 20 km East, and then 50 km West in 2 hours. My displacement would be -30 km because of final - initial (20 - 30 = -30). Would my velocity be -15 km/h?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 15, 2010 #2
    Yes, a key to the idea of velocity is that it has a direction. You can say I traveled -15 km/hr or you can say I traveled 15 km/hr in the west direction. However you say it, a direction has to be included or implied.

If you were talking about speed you would just say 15 km/hr with no negative sign and no direction stated.

4. Jun 15, 2010 #3

K^2

Science Advisor

Average speed here is 35km/h. In general [itex]\| Avg(V)\|\leq Avg(\|V\|)[/itex]

[Having problems with /bar and /overline for some reason, oh well.]

Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  5. Jun 16, 2010 #4
    Sorry, can you show me how the average speed is 35 km/h?

6. Jun 16, 2010 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

You are correct in both cases, except that I would say that your average velocity is 15 km/h in the first case and -15 km/h in the second case.

In general you need to distinguish between average velocity and instantaneous velocity. In your examples, it's impossible to say what the instantaneous velocities are, because you didn't give enough detail.

7. Jun 16, 2010 #6