Can anyone explain the physical meaning of spin in QM?

In summary, spin in quantum mechanics is an inherent quantity "baked in" to particles, similar to rest mass. It is a fixed and true characteristic of a particle that determines whether it obeys Fermi-Dirac or Bose-Einstein statistics. Spin can be thought of as the internal symmetry of a wave function and is responsible for the intrinsic angular momentum of a particle. While it may not have a direct physical interpretation, it can be demonstrated experimentally through effects such as the Einstein-de Haas effect. Ultimately, understanding spin requires a combination of learning the mathematics and seeing how it applies to real situations.
LennoxLewis
Can anyone explain the physical meaning of "spin" in QM?

I'm a physics master student and I've completed several quantum mechanics (or related) courses and i have no problem working with Pauli spin matrices, angular momentum L, spin momentum S and total momentum J for nuclear or atomic physics... i know that whether spin is an integer or half-integer determines the particle obeying Fermi-Dirac or Bose-Einstein statistics. I know that it's a fixed, inherently true characteristic of a particle, just like rest mass is. But I've never understood what spin REALLY means, in quantum mechanics.

Can anyone explain, perhaps with an analogy?

Physics news on Phys.org

What do you mean by "really means?"

Really. :smile:

This may or may not be what you're looking for, but intrinsic QM angular momentum does contribute to an object's macroscopic angular momentum, which can be demonstrated experimentally. See the Einstein - de Haas effect.

Spin comes from internal symmetry of a wave function. More explicitly, Lorentz invariance allows the existence of spin. (it doesn't say it must exist though).

Spin is no more different than a 4 vector. Under Lorentz transformation, a 4 vector transforms like
[tex]v'^\mu=\Lambda^\mu_\nu v^\nu[/tex]