Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can anyone explain the physical meaning of spin in QM?

1. Jan 6, 2009 #1
    Can anyone explain the physical meaning of "spin" in QM?

I'm a physics master student and i've completed several quantum mechanics (or related) courses and i have no problem working with Pauli spin matrices, angular momentum L, spin momentum S and total momentum J for nuclear or atomic physics.... i know that whether spin is an integer or half-integer determines the particle obeying Fermi-Dirac or Bose-Einstein statistics. I know that it's a fixed, inherently true characteristic of a particle, just like rest mass is. But i've never understood what spin REALLY means, in quantum mechanics.

Can anyone explain, perhaps with an analogy?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 6, 2009 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Re: Can anyone explain the physical meaning of "spin" in QM?

What do you mean by "really means?"

Really. :smile:

This may or may not be what you're looking for, but intrinsic QM angular momentum does contribute to an object's macroscopic angular momentum, which can be demonstrated experimentally. See the Einstein - de Haas effect.

4. Jan 6, 2009 #3

Spin comes from internal symmetry of a wave function. More explicitly, Lorentz invariance allows the existence of spin. (it doesn't say it must exist though).

Spin is no more different than a 4 vector. Under Lorentz transformation, a 4 vector transforms like
    [tex]v'^\mu=\Lambda^\mu_\nu v^\nu[/tex]

You can generalize this idea to allow spinors (so that they transform under Lorentz transformation):
    [tex]\chi' = U(\Lambda)\chi[/tex]