Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can expectation value of observables be imaginary?

1. May 18, 2008 #1
    I am quite new to Quantum Mechanics and I am studying it from the book by Griffiths, as kind of a self-study..no instructor and all....

For a gaussian wavefunction [tex]\Psi[/tex]=Aexp(-x[tex]^{2}[/tex]), I calculated
    <p[tex]^{2}[/tex]> and found it to be equal to ah[tex]^{2}[/tex]/(1-2aiht/m)

(By h I mean h-bar..not so good at latex yet)

Can it be correct? How can expectation value of p[tex]^{2}[/tex] be imaginary?
  2. jcsd
  3. May 18, 2008 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

That's not what I got. How did you go about calculating it?
  4. May 18, 2008 #3
    What did you get? <p^2>= ah ?
    we know psi(x,0) = Aexp(-x^2)
    so i first calulated phi(k) integrating (1/[(2*pi)^(1/2)]) psi(x,0)*exp(-ikx) dx from -inf to inf
    then got psi(x,t) (1/[(2*pi)^(1/2)]) phi(k)*exp(i(kx-((h^2)*(k^2)*t)/2m) dk from -inf to inf

till that part im correct, since the answer is given in the book and I verified.

For the next part, I got <x>=<p>=0 and <x^2>=1/(4*w^2) where w=[a/(1+4a2h2t2/m2)] (the 2's are squares)
    It's fine till then

Then got <p^2> by doing (-h^2)* integral psi(x,t)* (d^2/dx^2) psi(x,t) dx
    the problem is that i get imaginary constant (1-2aiht/m) each time i differentiate psi(x,t)
    and this doesn't get cancelled out later.
  5. May 18, 2008 #4
  6. May 18, 2008 #5

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

but you take the derivative twice, then you should not have any imaginary part left.
  7. May 18, 2008 #6
    (My previous post was a mistake ignore it..)

Here's how I did it..
    Now we find [tex]\psi(x,t)[/tex] as
    where A=[tex](\stackrel{2a}{\overline{\pi}})^{\stackrel{1}{\overline{4}}}[/tex]
    (A should be in the numerator)