Expectation value with imaginary component?

In summary: This is two.But the need for complex conjugation is not the source of your confusion, is it? You're just not sure what |a+ib|^2 means.In summary, the conversation discusses a problem in quantum mechanics where the state and observation probability both have imaginary components. The solution is to take the squared modulus of the complex number, which eliminates the imaginary part and results in a real probability value. The need for complex conjugation is implicit, but the main issue is understanding what |a+ib|^2 represents.
Kenneth Adam Miller
Hello, I'm a beginner at quantum mechanics. I'm working through problems of the textbook A Modern Approach to Quantum Mechanics without a professor since I am not going to college right now, so I need a brief bit of help on problem 1.10. Everything else I have gotten right so far, but I am having trouble understanding how to apply the examples provided in order to attain an observation probability that does not have an imaginary component.

To explain, the state:

##|phi> = 1/2 * | +z > + i*sqrt(3)/2 * | -z >##

And we wish to know ##<S_x>##, where ##|+x > = 1/sqrt(2)*|+z> + 1/sqrt(2)*|-z>##

Since there is not an imaginary component for |+x>, I don't see how I can calculate ##<+x | phi >##; there is not an i to negate for ##|+x>## to acquire the complex conjugate <+x|. Perhaps I don't understand the complex conjugation part well enough - equal magnitude and opposite sign, yes?

So, then when I'm calculating ##<+x | phi >## according to the example, I wind up with an expectation value with an imaginary component. Which I don't think is correct.

Can anybody help point out where I have gone wrong?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Please use the PF LaTeX feature. You can find help on it in the Info section. It makes posts involving math much easier to read.

How do you intend to calculate ##\langle S_x \rangle ##?