Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Expectation value with imaginary component?

1. Feb 18, 2017 #1
    Hello, I'm a beginner at quantum mechanics. I'm working through problems of the textbook A Modern Approach to Quantum Mechanics without a professor since I am not going to college right now, so I need a brief bit of help on problem 1.10. Everything else I have gotten right so far, but I am having trouble understanding how to apply the examples provided in order to attain an observation probability that does not have an imaginary component.

To explain, the state:

##|phi> = 1/2 * | +z > + i*sqrt(3)/2 * | -z >##

And we wish to know ##<S_x>##, where ##|+x > = 1/sqrt(2)*|+z> + 1/sqrt(2)*|-z>##

Since there is not an imaginary component for |+x>, I don't see how I can calculate ##<+x | phi >##; there is not an i to negate for ##|+x>## to acquire the complex conjugate <+x|. Perhaps I don't understand the complex conjugation part well enough - equal magnitude and opposite sign, yes?

So, then when I'm calculating ##<+x | phi >## according to the example, I wind up with an expectation value with an imaginary component. Which I don't think is correct.

Can any body help point out where I have gone wrong?

Last edited: Feb 18, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 18, 2017 #2

PeterDonis

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

Please use the PF LaTeX feature. You can find help on it in the Info section. It makes posts involving math much easier to read.

4. Feb 18, 2017 #3

PeroK

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

How do you intend to calculate ##\langle S_x \rangle ##?

5. Feb 18, 2017 #4