Can i be a mathematician if i'm not smart enough?

In summary: Exactly.In summary, I think that people who are good at mathematics often don't have to be "fast" about it. It's more about being able to comprehend the concepts and be able to work through proofs slowly.
aleph-aleph
I'm currently studying Mathematical Science and I found that it's hard for me to comprehend mathematical concepts without anyone explain them to me especially complex analysis and differential equations. I can spend days or weeks just to solve/prove a mathematical problem which most of my friends can solve it within 1 hour. My current CGPA is 3.0.

I love mathematics and really want to pursue pure mathematics but my progress is just too slow compare to others... Now I doubt my ability and I'm really depressed... What should I do? Should I continue master or phd? Or just give up my dream?

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe it is the problem with the specific subject and not you. Have you considered other areas of math, such as discrete math, algebra, geometry, topology, probability theory etc. ? If you can find some field of mathematics which you really enjoy and excel in, you can still specialize in that and make a name for yourself in it. It's ok if you're not good at certain branches of math, it doesn't mean you fail at math altogether. Math is a vast subject so it's hard to be a master in all of it.

BiP

I am convinced that everybody can learn mathematics. But I also think that to make a good mathematician, one has to be really "fast" about it. It is one thing to do math for your own satisfaction, and quite another to trail eternally behind more successful colleagues. A professionally successful mathematician typically obtains some good results when he is still young, so being proficient in early years is extremely important. Unless there is an area of mathematics that you master effortlessly and naturally, you should think really hard whether this is your true destiny professionally.