1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can i be a mathematician if i'm not smart enough?

1. Apr 14, 2013 #1
    I'm currently studying Mathematical Science and I found that it's hard for me to comprehend mathematical concepts without anyone explain them to me especially complex analysis and differential equations. I can spend days or weeks just to solve/prove a mathematical problem which most of my friends can solve it within 1 hour. My current CGPA is 3.0.

I love mathematics and really want to pursue pure mathematics but my progress is just too slow compare to others... Now I doubt my ability and I'm really depressed... What should I do? Should I continue master or phd? Or just give up my dream?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 14, 2013 #2
    Maybe it is the problem with the specific subject and not you. Have you considered other areas of math, such as discrete math, algebra, geometry, topology, probability theory etc. ? If you can find some field of mathematics which you really enjoy and excel in, you can still specialize in that and make a name for yourself in it. It's ok if you're not good at certain branches of math, it doesn't mean you fail at math altogether. Math is a vast subject so it's hard to be a master in all of it.

BiP

4. Apr 14, 2013 #3