1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math Can I call myself a mathematician if I am a Maths tutor?

1. Jul 22, 2017 #1

tgt

So I have been tutoring maths for almost 10 years now and tutor a wide range of students including students doing Olympiad problems to upper undergraduate level students. I have a Master Degree in mathematics.

Can I call myself a mathematician?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 22, 2017 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Why not? There are no licensing laws for mathematicians and you're working as a mathematician.

4. Jul 23, 2017 #3

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

You are putting too much attention on finding a label. Master's degree? Done some research in Mathematics? Maybe you are a mathematician. Maybe not. Your students might have the point of view that you are a Mathematician; but this label is unnecessary.

5. Jul 23, 2017 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I think you're working as a teacher of mathematics, which is not the same as mathematician.

6. Jul 23, 2017 #5
    In most cases, designations like physicist, mathematician, chemist, and biologist are reserved for those doing active research in their field. Most of the time, a mathematician would have a record of scholarly papers that resulted from their research - though other evidences of active scholarship might also suffice - patents, inventions, etc. Since most PhDs require significant research, a PhD in mathematics would also tend to qualify one to describe themselves as a mathematician.