Can I Find a Summer Research Opportunity with a 3.4 GPA?

• Thread starter Ateowa
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a sophomore at a Pennsylvania state university with a GPA of 3.4. They are looking for a research opportunity for the summer and have been searching for REUs on the NSF's website and compadre.com. However, they are concerned about their competitive GPA and are wondering if they have a chance at these programs. They ask for advice on finding other research opportunities, and are encouraged to apply for multiple REUs and also check with their own university for potential projects. The speaker also mentions that previous research experience can increase their chances of being accepted into an REU program.
Ateowa
I'm a Sophomore at a Pennsylvania state university and my GPA is around a 3.4. I was hoping to get some kind of research opportunity over the summer. I've been looking for REU's using the NSF's list on their website and a website called compadre.com. However, these are pretty competitive, and GPA isn't that great. Am I just psyching myself out, or is it unlikely that I can get a position at one of those places? How else can I find a research opportunity over the summer?

Physics news on Phys.org
It's free to apply so just give it your best shot.

Have you done any research at your university? I did an internship at a neighboring university after my freshman year, and as a consequence got into half the REU programs I applied for the next summer. They really like it if you've already had some experience. You can apply for a bunch of REUs, but also ask around - Penn State has some great departments, you could find a really good project right there.

Related to Can I Find a Summer Research Opportunity with a 3.4 GPA?

What is an REU/Internship?