Can psych meds cause a persons head and shoulders to grow

• Medical
  • Thread starter Forestman
  • Start date
Ever since I have been taking psych meds, since I was 18 I think; my head and shoulders have grown really big. When I graduated from high school I looked completely normal, but now my head and shoulders are gigantic. Plus my back sticks out now. It is like I am a tall hunch back.

Answers and Replies

Ever since I have been taking psych meds, since I was 18 I think; my head and shoulders have grown really big. When I graduated from high school I looked completely normal, but now my head and shoulders are gigantic. Plus my back sticks out now. It is like I am a tall hunch back.
Nobody can give you a diagnosis here, but I'm not aware of any medication you'd possibly be taking could have that effect. This could be a postural issue, a matter of normal muscle growth and issues with body image and perception, or so much else.

To be really blunt, you'd need to list your medications, and even then I don't know that you'd get an answer. Certainly if you're concerned it would be best to speak to you doctor, and if s/he concurs, see a PT or Orthopedist.

The fact that you take medications of any kind doesn't mean that there's a causal relationship, even if what you describe is clinically significant. Your previous mention of repetative head rolling could be a contributing factor, and if you often rock back and forth, or curl into yourself... that can have an effect. Then again, you could have a family history of neck and shoulder issue, etc...

Given the information, I really can't say better than that, sorry Forestman. Maybe Bobze or Moonbear could better help.

Thanks anyway though.

Thanks anyway though.
No problem Forestman, remember once again that bobze and Moonbear are the experts here, so you may well want to wait for them to weigh in at least.