Can self-study/teaching count as credentials?

In summary, If you are applying for a teaching or educational position, self study or coursework can count as part of your credentials if it is well-done and accompanied by a reference from a supervisor or instructor.
Cibo Matto
Hello, long time lurker here on PF. I was wondering if there is anyway that I could make self-study/teaching count in any way as credentials for future jobs?

I have a masters degree already but I'm hesitant to jump into a PhD since it would require that I attend part time while I work full time as my employment would be paying for it.

Physics news on Phys.org
Cibo Matto said:
I was wondering if there is anyway that I could make self-study/teaching count in any way as credentials for future jobs?
No. Credentials can only come from accredited organizations and you are not an accredited organization

Last edited:
Likes russ_watters, Locrian and RedRum69
Cibo Matto said:
Hello, long time lurker here on PF. I was wondering if there is anyway that I could make self-study/teaching count in any way as credentials for future jobs?

I have a masters degree already but I'm hesitant to jump into a PhD since it would require that I attend part time while I work full time as my employment would be paying for it.
In the strictly official sense, no. But that's not the end of the story. If you look for a job in education or in teaching, any volunteer work can count for something, especially if you secure a reference for what you did. Did you participate as teacher or tutor in some non-paid situation, and then are there supervisors who know the quality of your volunteer work? This will count for something.

Likes Dale