Can the proggression of time be described purely as a mathematical function?

In summary, the speaker is discussing different patterns and properties observed in basic mathematical functions, such as the inverse function having multiple values while the original function has one definite number. They also mention noticing a difference in computation order for inverse functions compared to normal functions. They then move on to discussing the idea of a "time function" in physics and questioning its properties and possible inverse function. However, the other speaker cautions against trying to make connections where they do not exist and suggests that the fascination with the inverse function may be purely mathematical curiosity.
Georgepowell
I am not too good at maths, but I have noticed a few patterns in some basic functions.

For example, when comparing a function to the inverse of that function, the inverse of the function can often come out with multiple values, but the original one always leads to one definite number. For example, the 'square' and 'square-root' function. The square root is usually "plus or minus" the square root, and hence the two possible values. The same with trigonometric functions.

Another pattern I noticed when comparing the inverse function to the original one is that it doesn't matter about the order of the computation of the normal function, but then when calculating the inverse, the order matters. e.g.

7*23*4*5 is the same as 7*(23*(4*5)), but 7/(23/(4/5)) is not the same as (7/23)/(4/5).

Another point: every function has a 'base', for example the multiplication function can be written as f[y](x)= x*y (where [y] is the 'base'). The inverse of SOME functions can be found simple by changing the base of the original function to [1/y]:

f[1/y](x) = x*(1/y) = x/y

But other functions do not work in the same way. For example with logarithms:

log[a](x)= y
but,
log[1/a](y) does not = x