Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can we increase the wing area vertically?

1. Jun 4, 2007 #1
    hmmm... i was just wondering, if we increased the area of a wing and sacrifice drag, we should get more lift right? and if we got more lift, should we not be fly with a low velocity?

And im not talking like gliders and increasing the wingspan, im thinking about increasing their area vertically... is this possible??

Im not an aeronautical engineer or anything, i just thought it should be possible after going through how a wing works... so if you can help me out, it would be good... :approve:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 4, 2007 #2
    what do you mean by increasing the area vertically? do u mean increasing the thickness?

4. Jun 4, 2007 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

It's not a simple tradeoff like you are thinking. The result of lift is drag. Not only parasitic, but induced drag. Also you increase the weight.

I have no idea what you mean about increasing the area vertically.

5. Jun 4, 2007 #4
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2007
  6. Jun 5, 2007 #5

Danger

Gold Member

Well, I guess that it depends upon what you mean by increasing it vertically. There are devices called Whitcomb winglets that look like vertical stabilizers on the tips of the wings. I have no idea of how they work from an aeronautical engineering standpoint, but I'm sure that Fred, Russ, Rainman Aero and a few others can tune you in on that. The essence, however, is that they 'trick' the wings into acting as if they're much longer than they really are. My best semi-educated guess would be that it has something to do with harnessing wingtip vortices, but I really don't know.

7. Jun 5, 2007 #6
    winglets produces the infinite wing span effect

8. Jun 6, 2007 #7