Can you prove anything using the Scientific Method?

In summary: When you say "prove" you mean like in the mathematical sense of "proof".But when you search for the meaning of "proof" in Google I get the same thing:Proof = evidence or argument establishing a fact or the truth of a statement.So, when scientists using the scientific method and "show" that an exoplanet exist 1000s of light years away orbiting a star he is in fact giving us "proof" isn't it?He is in-fact giving us "evidence or argument establishing a fact which is that a planet exists or the truth of a statement, the statement being that an exoplanet exists".So, aren't all (show, prove,
Varsha Verma
I am studying the scientific method and have come to the following conclusion.

Since X -> Y does not imply X is true (or real), it is impossible for the scientific method (SM) to prove that anything is true.

So like mathematics, the scientific method builds knowledge on axioms which cannot be proven to be true, like mathematics is built on axioms like the point which does not exist.

The scientific method only stats that "if something is true" then "something else is also true".

For example: If you push an object -> it will move says the SM. But it does not show that there is a force.
Another example: "Taking antibiotics" -> "Cures diseases". But it does not tell that disease causing germs exist.

Is this the correct view??

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
The scientific method is not about "proving" anything, it is about how to develop theories that comport with observations and make predictions about future observations. You never prove anything in physics, that's a math thing.

Likes zonde, Jon Richfield, Mr Wolf and 1 other person
Varsha Verma said:
it is impossible for the scientific method (SM) to prove that anything is true
Yes, this is well known.

Varsha Verma said:
So like mathematics, the scientific method builds knowledge on axioms which cannot be proven to be true