1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge

1. Nov 17, 2007 #1
    Has anyone here done the Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge? It's my first time writing it this coming Wednesday and I would like to do well.

http://cemc.uwaterloo.ca/english/contests/open.shtml

In particular, I was wondering how leniently they are marked. What kind of marks will I earn for lets say showing the initial steps in a Part A question, but not getting the correct answer? And, more importantly, how detailed should my solution for Part B questions be in order to earn full marks? The solutions they have posted are so detailed and well organized that mimicking them would eat away all my time.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2007 #2
    not very lenient at all from what I gather. Myself and some others would get everything in part B (except for, usually, the last part of the last question), but make petty little mistakes in part A and ended up not doing very well. They really don't like giving part marks. As for B, if you just spit out a stream of consciousness you will be penalized. They are looking for elegant, clearly stated solutions since that is the only way they can distinguish between the top students who will be able to solve every question

4. Nov 17, 2007 #3
    Everything in Part B? I am not capable of that at the moment, but I do have 3 days to prepare - I really want to qualify for the CMO. Do you have any recommendations as to how I should spend the time I have left?

5. Nov 18, 2007 #4
    The COMC is pretty accessible as in you don't need to know obscure number theorems or symmetries. Just do a few past exams to build confidence and get a good sleep.

6. Nov 18, 2007 #5