Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Career (PhD) Vs Family (Parents): What should be priority?

1. Jul 20, 2015 #1
    Hi all,
    I am a mechanical engineer 26 yrs old from India. I am thinking to go for a PhD (in US, maybe) but there seems to be a problem!
    By the time I get started with it I will be 27yrs. And on top of that I will have to be away from my parents for ~6yrs. My parents would do well without me financially but it's just that I think ~6yrs would be too long for them to bear without me (although they've agreed to stay without me). But they are planning for my marriage (this happens in India, of course) and say that I should get married by 28. I am planning to return back to India after my PhD. Also I am the only son to take care of them. So my questions are:
    1. How will getting married in between my PhD affect my life and my work? Will it then become more difficult to complete my PhD?
    2. I feel guilty sometimes that I am choosing career over taking care of my parents when they're old. Being in India and as the only son, it is expected of me to take care of my parents...and I want to do that too. But I also want to go for PhD. What to choose? How to choose? I'm confused!

In short I am confused whether to move and pursue PhD or stay in my current job and take care of my parents, get married, have kids etc.

I will be happy to get any help/guideline.
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2015 #2

e.bar.goum

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I'm afraid this is a really personal decision, and everyone will make a different decision, depending on their own personal priorities. Further, there are cultural norms at play here that make any non-Indian members of PF pretty unqualified to respond.

However
    I'm going to respond anyway. :wink: