1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Changing undergrad. course in University

1. Apr 10, 2008 #1
    I'm currently an A2 student in the UK and I've received conditional offers from all my universities already. I originally wanted to do engineering but wants to do physics now, I emailed Imperial but they said Physics is full already but I can email them again once A-level results come out. How big of a chance can I switch course?

Even if they won't let me switch in the summer holiday, but if I'm accepted to engineering, will I be able to change course once the academic year has started??

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 10, 2008 #2
    Not sure about the UK, but as far as Canadian Universities go you can switch to a different course or even degree during the beginning of the year. So long as there is space and that usually happens within the first week.

Also here they make us choose our degree in second year so as to give us some time to rethink our options. BTW, I would suggest you go to the physics courses even if your not enrolled within them, but just in case you do get in so your not left far behind.

4. Apr 10, 2008 #3
    Physics is full? They have to be lying.

5. Apr 10, 2008 #4
    Last year, Imperial had a 1:5 ratio for placement:applicant.

I know that at Imperial it is very difficult (after 1st 3weeks or so) to completely change disciplines ie going from Engineering to Physics, but there is more of a give between the various physics courses ie between Physics and Theoretical Phy.

I would say that your best option would be to try to get on the Physics course before you arrive at Imperial. It will be difficult as there are only ~250 places for first year Physics courses there.

6. Apr 10, 2008 #5