1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Colision and deformation between 2 objects

1. Oct 21, 2011 #1
    I am a forensic engineer trying to find the solution to a physics / metallurgy problem. No one in my office seems to know how to approach the problem. I was hoping I could get an answer from the folks in the forum. Please help.

A 440C steel ball having a diameter of 1.0” is propelled horizontally and collides with a metal plate having the dimensions 10” x 10” x 2” thick. The initial velocity of the ball is 60 feet per second. Assume that the ball impacts the plate at its direct center. Also assume that the plate is stationary and held rigidly in place. The material properties of the steel ball are as follows: UTS = 285,000, .2%YS = 275,000, Elongation = 2%, Reduction of area = 10%, Rc hardness = C57.
    Determine the force at impact. Determine the size of the indention made (diameter and depth) in the metal plate after impact. Repeat the calculations for the following materials:

Block material 1: Type 440C
    Block material 2: Lead:
    Block material 3: Copper

Finally, determine the coefficients of restitution in all three cases.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2011 #2
    Honestly, in my opinion, I think it would be best to actually do it and just measure it. There are a lot of factors here which make this a complex problem. Unless you absolutely need a model dependent on material properties, buying the balls and plates is probably the easiest way to go.