College Majors: engineering/mathematics

• Schools
  • Thread starter pierce15
  • Start date
  • Tags
    College
In summary: I know that this is a very naive desire. I have a few questions- if you could answer one or more, I would greatly appreciate it.In summary, the individual is a high school sophomore with a strong interest in math and engineering. They are considering a double major in pure math and engineering and have questions about the compatibility of the two majors, different types of engineering, the time commitment for a double major, employment options with a Ph.D in engineering, and the use of math in engineering careers. They are also curious about other potential Ph.D options and the salary for engineering jobs outside of academia.
pierce15
Hello all,

I am currently a sophomore in high school, but I am thinking about this now because I know that it will be a tough decision down the road. Basically, I love math, and would love to solve challenging integrals all day, but I know that this is a very naive desire. I have a few questions- if you could answer one or more, I would greatly appreciate it.

1. Does an engineering major pair well with pure math for a double major?

2. Are there different types of engineering majors?

3. Obviously this is specific to schools, but generally how time consuming are pure math and engineering majors? Would I have any free time as a double major?

4. If I decide to pursue a Ph.D in engineering, what will my employment options be?

5. Engineering careers are obviously heavily dependent on mathematics, but how much math could I expect to do by hand? (i.e. would I ever solve a differential equation again, or is everything done by computers?)

I am sure that I will have more questions soon. For now, I am going to bed, but I look forward to reading any replies in the morning. Thank you for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org
1. Not really

2. Yes