College student. Should I memorize

In summary: etcetc.unless of course you are into medieval history and have memorized that a mile is eight furlongs; each furlong is ten chains; each chain...etcetc.
Edin_Dzeko
guys should I memorize the conversion ex, 1 this equals that? Or will they ALWAYS be provided on exams? I don't want to take the risk. If there are teacher who won't provide it, I don't want to take the chance I want to commit it to memory now. At the moment I'm studying the basics of Chemistry and ALL the practice problems I've been doing online provide it. So let's say they give you foot and they want meters as your final answer they will give you the scale ex this equals this amount of meters.

I'm preparing for Chem I (General Chem) at the college level so anyone who has passed me just let me know if this is something I should memorize.

thanks in advance

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Never seen a units conversion on an exam question - they are normally confusing because they go out of the way to use consistent units so you end up with m^3 where you would have expected litres or cc in the lab.

It is worth having an idea of general sizes of things, how big is a mole of ideal gas or a mole of a common salt - just so you know if you a factor of a million wrong somewhere

NobodySpecial said:
Never seen a units conversion on an exam question - they are normally confusing because they go out of the way to use consistent units so you end up with m^3 where you would have expected litres or cc in the lab.

It is worth having an idea of general sizes of things, how big is a mole of ideal gas or a mole of a common salt - just so you know if you a factor of a million wrong somewhere

so do I memorize or not? Also let me know where to start or what to start with

Don't memorize feet to meters etc
Do memorize m^3 to cm^3 and litres - it's surprisingly easy to get wrong under pressure

NobodySpecial said:
Don't memorize feet to meters etc