1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Community College College Calulus 1&2 vs. AP CALC BC

1. Apr 3, 2016 #1
    As a sophomore, I am deciding whether to jump into AP CALC BC or the college credit plus program; CALC I&II. Now this summer, I am taking honors pre-CALC at the same community college so I hope I will be prepared. Should I take the AP class because it looks good on an application or community college courses?!? (Also wondering if the new AP seminar and research are worth the degree)

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 3, 2016 #2

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

More algebra, and at least one Trigonometry course, first. "AP" might or might not mean "Advanced Placement" where you are. I would say, do whichever course is more thorough, AS LONG AS your prerequisite knowledge is strong enough.

4. Apr 3, 2016 #3

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

If you take the AP class, you'll have to take the AP test to get college credit. If you take the CC course, it should transfer. (Or is there something weird about the college credit plus program, whatever that is?)

5. Apr 3, 2016 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

And some colleges don't give credit for AP courses, or so I've heard.

6. Apr 5, 2016 #5

IGU

You don't make it clear what you're after. If you want to learn calculus well, neither will do the job alone. You'll have to do a bunch of study on your own to supplement what they teach you. Both the AP curriculum and community colleges tend to teach lots of technique and little theory, pretty much no proofs, so for a math major they aren't much good.