Complex Analysis for Integrals in Physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the usefulness of complex analysis in computing integrals of real valued functions. The speaker, a physics student, is looking for a textbook that takes a practical approach to the subject, focusing on understanding how to do the integral rather than the underlying theory. They mention that any book on mathematical methods in physics would cover this topic, with some specific recommendations. They also mention using Fundamentals of Complex Analysis by Saff and Snyder, which is geared toward physics students and focuses on applications.
go quantum!
Hello!
I know that the theory of complex analysis is useful to compute integrals of real valued functions. I am a Physics student and I followed a Complex Analysis course but we did not have time to cover this up.

I am looking for a textbook that takes a practical approach to this subject. I am more concerned about knowing how to do the integral, then to understand why the rules to do the computations work. In few words, I am looking for textbook with a physicist's approach to complex analysis.

Thanks.

PS- I could reformulate this post and just claim that I am looking for a book that explains the complex analysis that is necessary to study quantum field theory.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Almost any book on mathematical methods in physics will have a chapter or two devoted to this. The first three that came up on Amazon were Mathews & Walker, Boas and Arfken, all of them old and reliable. Plus many more.

We used Fundamentals of Complex Analysis by Saff and Snyder in our Complex Analysis course. It's aimed at physics students and others interested in applications. I found it quite good.

1. What is Complex Analysis for Integrals in Physics?