I Confusion about the thermal interpretation's account of measurement

• Thread starter nicf
  • Start date
Summary
Does the account of measurement in Neumaier's thermal interpretation papers actually depend on the thermal interpretation?
I'm a mathematician with a longstanding interest in physics, and I've recently been enjoying reading and thinking about Arnold Neumaier's thermal interpretation, including some threads on this forum. There's something that's still confusing me, though, and I'm hoping someone here can clear it up. Most of the questions here come from the third paper in the series.

Consider some experiment, like measuring the spin of a suitably prepared electron, where we can get one of two outcomes. The story usually goes that, before the electron sets off the detector, the state is something like ##\left[\sqrt{\frac12}(|\uparrow_e\rangle+|\downarrow_e\rangle)\right]\otimes|\mbox{ready}\rangle##, where ##|\uparrow_e\rangle## denotes the state of an electron which has spin up around the relevant axis, and afterwards the state is something like ##\sqrt{\frac12}(|\uparrow_e\rangle\otimes |\uparrow_D\rangle+|\downarrow_e\rangle\otimes|\downarrow_D\rangle)##, where ##|\uparrow_D\rangle## denotes a state in which the (macroscopic) detector has reacted the way it would have if the electron had started in the state ##|\uparrow_e\rangle##. It's usually argued that this macroscopic superposition has to arise because the Schrödinger equation is linear. Let's call this the first story.