Connectedness of the closed interval

In summary, the conversation involves a student studying for a topology exam and trying to prove that the closed interval [0,1] is connected. They have come up with a proof that is different from what they have in their notes and are seeking verification. The proof involves assuming the interval can be separated into clopen, disjoint, and non-empty sets, but ultimately concludes that this is impossible, making the proof sound. The other person agrees that the proof seems reasonable.
jojo12345
Hi,

I'm studying for the final exam in my first course in topology. I'm currently recalling as many theorems as I can and trying to prove them without referring to a text or notes. I think I have a proof that the closed interval [0,1] is connected, but it's different than what I have in my notes. I was hoping I might just verify that my proof is sound.

Proof:
Assume [tex] [0,1]=A\cup B [/tex] where A and B are clopen, disjoint, and not empty. Further, assume that A contains 0. Because B is closed in the interval and the interval is closed in the reals, B is closed in the reals and contains its infimum, [tex]z=\text{inf}B\in B [/tex]. Note that [tex]z\not =0[/tex] because [tex]A\cap B=\emptyset[/tex].

Now, because [tex]B[/tex] is open in the interval, there is some [tex]\epsilon >0[/tex] such that [tex]b=(z-\epsilon,z+\epsilon)\cap [0,1]\subseteq B[/tex]. [tex]b[/tex] cannot contain [tex]0[/tex], again, because this would violate the disjointness of [tex]A[/tex] and [tex]B[/tex]. Also, [tex]b[/tex] cannot contain any numbers less than [tex]z[/tex] because [tex]z[/tex] is a lower bound on [tex]B[/tex]. However, the only way this last sentence can be true is if [tex]z=0[/tex], which is absurd. Thus the initial separation of the interval into clopen, disjoint, not empty sets is impossible.

Does this work out, or did I overlook something?

Physics news on Phys.org
Sounds reasonable enough.

Thank you.