1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Considering carreer in finance/banking/market analysis

1. Oct 10, 2011 #1
    Hi guys!

The other threads I saw on this didn't quite get to my area of interest, which is:

How reasonable is it to apply to a company which deals with financial market analysis etc, with a bachelors in science (from a good uni), and a masters in theoretical physics (also from a good uni) ?? I have mostly top grades, but my focus has been on string theory and geometry - not differential equations or statistics.

Is it worth applying to said jobs? I am thinking London, New York and Paris... which companies deal with this kind of thing?

Would be really great for some info as I am new to the field.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2011 #2
    Masters of physics can end up doing business consulting, but that's not a world I'm familiar with. I don't know of anyone with a masters of physics in investment banking, but I don't know whether this is small number samples or something else.

IMHO, it's worth applying to anything that will pay you money. The trouble is that it's non-trivia to apply for a job. You'd think that you'd apply for a job in the same way that you'd apply for admission to a university, but it doesn't work that way.

Ph.D. physics positions tend to be concentrated in London and NYC, but most Ph.D. physics level positions are not open to people with masters in physics that are fresh out of school. As far as names, there are roughly a dozen major investment banks and thousands of hedge funds and consulting firms in the NYC area.

4. Oct 13, 2011 #3
    Thanks for your reply!

Could you list some of the companies you know of? Do you think they would be interested in someone with a good mathematical training?