Constraints of a mechanical system

In summary: Yes, that's correct. A continuous body usually has to be described by fields (e.g., density, velocity, pressure for a fluid). An exception is the rigid body, which has only 6 degrees of freedom (3 position-vector coordinates to any fixed point within the body and 3 Euler angles to describe the rotation of a body-fixed Cartesian coordinate system wrt. a space-fixed Cartesian one). It's a good exercise to derive this with continuum-mechanical methods.
Ahmed1029
I'm studying theoretical mechanics and I kind of find the notion of a "mechanical system" very slippery, especially when it comes to constraints. Take an example :
Screenshot_2022-09-28-10-19-40-89_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg

I know that when a system consists of N particles and p constraints, it has 3N-p degrees of freedom; this is the definition. Then I come across something like this example in the picture above, in which I have a wire which includes an infinite number of particles, and in the solution it's completely ignored. Here there are 2 constraints and the auther treated the whole setup as if there is only one particle while the wire is completely ignored, thus the system has one degree if freedom because 3(1)-2=1
In general, how do I know the number of degrees of freedom of a "mechanical system" that is not just made of ordinary accumilatios of discrete particles?

Physics news on Phys.org
Likes vanhees71 and Ahmed1029
Baluncore said:
The wire is a hypothetical perfect guideline for the sliding bead.
Only the position of the bead on the wire is being considered.
The model is applicable to this real situation.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liquid-mirror_telescope