Construction of an Entangled Photon Source

In summary, Marilyn discovered that if you want to create polarization-entangled photons, you must use 2 type I crystals, which are twice as expensive.
Marilyn67
TL;DR Summary
An interesting montage made by an electrical and computer engineering student girl
Hello,
Happy New Year 2023 !

Interested in spontaneous parametric down-conversion (SPDC), and the possibility of creating entangled photon pairs, I studied several possible configurations with type 1 and type 2 nonlinear crystals.
When using these crystals, the dominant phenomenon is second harmonic generation (SHG, frequency doubling).

The inverse phenomenon that occurs in parallel (SPDC), the one that interests me, unfortunately has a very low return rate (less than 4 pairs per 1 million...!).

I discovered a very interesting montage made by an electrical and computer engineering student girl :

Can you give me your informed opinion on this assembly?

Is this configuration correct ?

Can it be improved or, on the contrary, simplified to lower the assembly cost ?

(at the moment I'm mainly interested in the first part of the assembly, I mean the production of entangled photon pairs at 810 nm thanks to a source of photons of 405 nm).

Cordially,
Marilyn

Likes vanhees71 and PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
Marilyn67 said:
Is this configuration correct ?

Can it be improved or, on the contrary, simplified to lower the assembly cost ?

(at the moment I'm mainly interested in the first part of the assembly, I mean the production of entangled photon pairs at 810 nm thanks to a source of photons of 405 nm).
The configuration looks fine to me--actually it is quite simple. It could probably be improved upon, but that would almost certainly mean a more complex set of apparatus and higher cost.

Is there something special about the 810 nm and 405 nm wavelengths for what you have in mind?