1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Cornell physics PhD admissions? Is it pointless for me to even apply?

1. Sep 24, 2013 #1

Physics_UG

Gold Member

I graduated 4 years ago from a small university and received a dual BS in EE and physics. I went into a decently ranked EE PhD program but dropped out after a year. I attempted to go back a couple times but just didn't care too much for the courses and dropped my classes both times. I have since realized that physics is my real passion and I want to study accelerator physics in grad school.

My ugrad GPA is 3.44 overall (much higher in physics classes though). My pgre score is a 600 and I have decided that I will not retake it since I don't have enough time to prepare for a retake at this point. I know I can get very very good letters of rec from my two research advisors from when I was in the EE PhD program and I have two coauthor publications from that experience as well as a first place win in a national competition where I presented my research and wrote a paper on it. My general GRE quant score was a 760 but I can't remember what my verbal score was. I have a history of bombing the quant section on the prior times I took the GRE but the most recent time I got my score up to 760, which I think is respectable.

I am interested in experimental accelerator physics and I believe my background in engineering will be highly appreciated in this field.

What do you think? Do I have a shot at a school like Cornell? If not, what are some accelerator programs I might have a shot at? I would like to stay within an 8 hr drive from Michigan so I am looking at the midwest and the new england area.

Thanks!