High School Freshman Considering Coursera Classes: Pros & Cons

• Thread starter Tyler133
  • Start date
In summary: Amazon and read them before the class starts. If you're taking a class from a professor, ask the professor what material is covered in the class and consider buying the textbook. If you're taking a MOOC (massive open online course), you won't have anything to use as a textbook, but some universities offer refunds if you don't pass the course.
Tyler133
I am a Freshman in high school who has been maintaining a 4.0 GPA and I want to take some coursera courses to advance my knowledge. However, I know that these classes are at a college level so it may be difficult for me to get an A in the classes I take. I don't want to send a college application off and then they see that I had less than satisfactory grades on the coursera classes that I took. So the question is should I take these courses and risk not getting an A or should I not do these courses all together?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do them. There are great courses offered by very good teachers. And it's free. Certification is based on pass/fail structure. If you get over x% (dependent on the course what x is), you get a certificate saying you completed the class. If you don't get the mark, well you don't get anything. Nowhere does it mention your actual grade. So I don't think you should worry too much

SolsticeFire

I thought when you got the certification of completion it listed your total grade percent. Is that true?

Tyler133 said: