Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Creating an Optimizer - What is the correct Math Model or formula to use ?

1. Sep 19, 2007 #1

I am an application developer and need to create a computer application which output should be the best possible combination of orders that would fit in a a metal stick.

I have tried by sorting the order qty in descending order, but found
    that this approach was very simplistic. I need to know if there is
    any Math model or formula to make this calculation.

Example of what I need to accomplish:

I have a metal sticks of 2100 MM (Stick are always the same length)

The orders could be of different lengths:

1210 MM
    860 "
    320 "
    650 "
    540 "

The goal is to cut the orders using the 2100 MM stick by scrapping the list qty of material. In this case the ideal recomendation would be:

STICK LENGTH: 2,100 MM
    To cut the stick like this: One order: 1,210 MM &
    One order: 860 MM
    Total qty used: 2,070 MM
    Scrap Qty: 30 MM

Someone recomended me to use the Monte Carlo simulation, but I found
    that this will not work for this scenario. Someone else told me this would be a combinatory analysis, but I am not sure either of this one.:confused:

I hope you can point me to the right direction.

Last edited: Sep 20, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2007 #2

Chris Hillman

Science Advisor

Commutative algebra scores again?

Hi, Roddy,