Currently working through Apostol need a check on my logic

In summary, To prove that (a-1)-1=a, we can use the existence of reciprocals axiom to show that (a-1)-1 has a reciprocal, (a-1)-1, and then use the possibility of division theorem to simplify (a-1)-1 a-1 to 1. Multiplying by a on the right gives us (a-1)-1=a, proving the theorem.
VectorField

Homework Statement

Prove the following theorem.
If a≠0, then (a-1)-1=a

Theorems proven before/axioms I am allowed to use:
Existence of reciprocals axiom: there exist real numbers x and y where x≠0 such that xy=1
Possibility of division Thm: basically a-1=1/a

Homework Equations

I just need a check on my proof since I am self studying the book. Any logical mistakes on my proof or suggestions etc? This is my first time writing proofs.

The Attempt at a Solution

Assume (a-1)-1=a is true.
Then by the existence of reciprocals axiom there exists an x such that (a-1)-1x=1.
Hence,
(a-1)-1x=ax​
ax=1​
Now by the possibility of division theorem we have,
x=1/a=a-1
Finally since we assumed (a-1)-1=a was true it follows that:
(a-1)-1x=ax=aa-1=1​
Q.E.D​

It looks fine to me, I'm just a noob at proofs. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
VectorField said:

Homework Statement

Prove the following theorem.
If a≠0, then (a-1)-1=a

Theorems proven before/axioms I am allowed to use:
Existence of reciprocals axiom: there exist real numbers x and y where x≠0 such that xy=1
Possibility of division Thm: basically a-1=1/a

Homework Equations

I just need a check on my proof since I am self studying the book. Any logical mistakes on my proof or suggestions etc? This is my first time writing proofs.

The Attempt at a Solution

Assume (a-1)-1=a is true.
Then by the existence of reciprocals axiom there exists an x such that (a-1)-1x=1.
Hence,
(a-1)-1x=ax​
ax=1​
Now by the possibility of division theorem we have,
x=1/a=a-1
Finally since we assumed (a-1)-1=a was true it follows that:
(a-1)-1x=ax=aa-1=1​
Q.E.D​