1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Deciding between Mechanical and Electrical engineering

1. Feb 9, 2012 #1
    Hello, I'm majoring in physics at the end of the year but I'm more interested in engineering now. The thing is that I could start taking Mechanical engineering classes now and obtaining the degree in two years from now (without obtaining the major in physics), or I could finish the physics major this year and later get a degree in Electrical engineering in three years from now.
    My problem is that I don't know which one is the better choice since I like both, so I'd be glad if you could tell me about your current job as a Mechanical engineering or as an Electrical engineering. I'd like to know what do you exactly do on a regular day. I'm also interested in programming and my marks are pretty well for now if that helps. The job prospects after graduation are important for me too.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 9, 2012 #2
    I'd complete the degree in physics and see if you can get accepted in a graduate engineering program. With your physics background this shouldn't be much of an issue.

4. Feb 13, 2012 #3

OldEngr63

Gold Member

If you do as Ben Zina recommends, you will only need about 2 years of remedial undergraduate work in engineering to get caught up for the graduate work.