1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Degree in Physics to PhD in Computer Science

1. Feb 22, 2013 #1
    I've read various post on this matter here actually. However I'll do some rant on my story:

I'm currently a masters student (quantum physics, with maybe 60-70% programming content). I always had an interest in how computer works but I did not got into the CS degree. Now, I am planning for my phd studies. I've engaged into astrophysics which requires very intensive programming - modelling solar systems. This should include a big chuck of numerical and computational stuffs (which I am familiar of).

Yesterday, I had a chance to talk to some technopreneuer, which one of them are doing data analytics from social network. It involves big data analysis and I found it very interesting. In fact, I may not be able to imagine a future in astrophysics (what is the significance of my research?) but I can imagine a world where analysing big data can be useful for decision making.

I understand that I sounds completely crazy now, but:

0. I've imagine big data analysis to use AI or statistical method to process information. But beyond that I am yet to have any idea what I'm saying.

1. Do I have a shot on continuing my PhD in CS? especially in big data analysis.

2. If yes, where should I start? I might be able to get a GRE in CS to prove my competencies after self studying on most important subjects: database, Data structure, OS etc.

Anyway, I'm comfortable with programming but I do not have background in CS. I'm mainly a C programmer with experience in Perl/Python/Matlab/PHP/SQL. I've took 600x in www.edx.org, and passed with 99%.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 23, 2013 #2