Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Different gravitational fields from different reference points

1. Feb 10, 2012 #1
    Hello. I am new to the idea of Special Relativity. From what I have read, based on what speed something is traveling it experiences an increase in mass. Let's say I am standing on the earth. I am experiencing a gravitational force of (me(m))/r^2. Now lets say I am the same person that somehow got hurled through space at a rediculous speed and I am about to do a close to touch and go fly by of the atmosphereless(I dont want to burn to death or slow down) earth. From my vantage point, the earths mass has greatly increased and from the earths reference frame my mass has greatly increased and therefore (me(m))/r^2 is much greater than the gravitational force experienced earlier correct? Also, if you divide by m you get the acceleration of the superfast me due to the gravity of earth which turns out to be me/r^2. Since the mass of the earth is greater with respect to the superfast version of myself than with the stationary version, I will actually accelerate towards the earth faster than the stationary version of myself correct? Also, wouldn't that mean that just by increasing my speed I have increased the potential energy of gravity from a certian height?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 10, 2012 #2

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The short answer to your question is that you can't get a relativistic theory of gravity just by combining special relativity with Newton's law of gravity. The minimum you have to do is reinvent general relativity.