Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does einstien really explain everything about gravity? Is there more?

1. Mar 16, 2009 #1
    Although Albert Einstein had explained the new picture of gravity through his theory of general relativity, by explaining that gravity is the warping of spacetime, did he explain why mass actually warps this fabric of spacetime?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 16, 2009 #2

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Didn't you ask this earlier?

4. Mar 16, 2009 #3
    The answer to your question is no. I am not a GR expert but I have studied the theory in mathematical detail and the underlying fact that gravitational effects are caused by mass-energy seems only to be known by experience i.e. it is not deduced mathematically (a priori) but only empirically (a posteori).

5. Mar 16, 2009 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Neither Einstein nor, as far as I know, any scientist has ever claimed to explain how mass is "causes" gravity. Newton said, in regard to that question, "Hypothesen non fengo", "I frame no hypotheses" and it is still true. That, I suspect, would be one of the deepest questions of physics.

6. Mar 17, 2009 #5
    Yeah I did, i wanted to delete the other one first but i didn't know how and i wasn't sure if i can.

7. Mar 17, 2009 #6
    mass or energy creates gravity not just mass.

8. Mar 17, 2009 #7

Dale

Staff: Mentor

To follow up on cragar's point. The source of gravity in GR is the stress-energy tensor which includes energy (mass often being the dominant source of energy), momentum, pressure, and stress. It is incorrect to say that mass alone causes gravity.

9. Mar 17, 2009 #8
    Okay, but the question wasn't what creates gravity, the question was why does mass/energy cause spacetime to warp? On a very fundamental level.

10. Mar 17, 2009 #9

A.T.

Science Advisor
    Gold Member