Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Double image in reflector telescope

1. Apr 18, 2016 #1
    Complete reflector novice here. Just got a reflector (using refractor before). I had no problems doing astrophotography with my refractor however with the reflector I get double images.

Why is this so? Is this a collmination problem? It's not the camera because there's double images when I look through myself.

Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

• t1.jpg
      t1.jpg
      File size:
      27.7 KB
      Views:
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2016 #2

Borg

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Just a guess but, it looks like you're trying to focus on something that is too close to your telescope. How far away is the object and what is the focal length of the telescope?

4. Apr 18, 2016 #3
    It has a 1400mm focal length. Here is also a picture of the Moon which appears to have the same problem. The tree is just across a small parking lot.

Attached Files:

• moon.jpg
      moon.jpg
      File size:
      9.2 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      46.3 KB
      Views:
  5. Apr 18, 2016 #4

Borg

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

6. Apr 18, 2016 #5

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Borg is correct.

The moon definitely doesn't have the same problem. It may not be quite perfectly in focus, but it is close.

7. Apr 18, 2016 #6
    Is it possible I have a bad quality mirror? My refractor had half the aperture and gave me way better detail. Although yeah it could be the alignment.

8. Apr 18, 2016 #7

russ_watters

Based on the pictures you posted, I find it very unlikely that you have a bad quality mirror. But you may want to look into a "star test collimation".

9. Apr 18, 2016 #8

Borg

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Here's a link on collimation of the telescope with some good graphics.

10. Apr 18, 2016 #9