Doubts of an aspiring Theoretical Physicist

In summary, there is a very small chance that you will become a successful physicist, and a much higher chance of you not achieving this goal. If you really love physics and want to make a difference in the world, you should consider a different career.
Brunnun
I hope I do not extend myself here. I am a Brazilian High School student, graduating this year, that plans to pursue a Physics undergraduate in the United States. Since I started High School I decided on my degree; I love physics and my ultimate dream is to research the depths of the field, discovering new and useful things and leaving a legacy in general. I dream in becoming a scientist. And even if this dream has not faded, and my love for Physics continue strong, I have found some opinions scattered around the internet that led me to a big doubt: Is my dream (getting an undergrad physics degree, a PhD and going into academia) possible, and, let's say, liveable?

I don't want you to get me mistaken. I do love to study, I love Physics and Math, and, even having some difficulty in parts of the subjects (I'm no genius), I am willing to do everything I can to achieve all of this. But the opinions I've read around scientists' blogs, posts in this forum and around the internet in general seem disturbing. It seems almost no one who has my goal achieve it, becoming anywhere from a stable hand to a computer programmer on the way.

What I want to know, and I'll put it in bold for the people who didn't read all of this bible, is: is a PhD in Physics (Theoretical, probably), and a career in academia, off limits for most? Am I falling into a trap, probably ending up with no life outside of work and no perspectives out of it? If not, how can I be sure to at least have a chance at this? And, for the ones who answer "yes", what are other options for someone who loves science and wants to make something good for the world, that would not lead to this trap?