1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dropping out of US graduate school and reapplying at Europe

1. May 21, 2013 #1
    I know this bit awkward, but seriously I am in need of some advice due to my strange situation. Last year I joined a graduate school at US which is ranked below 150 as I got only offer from this university and rejected from the rest of universities where I applied.

I was not at all happy with the program due to various reasons. First of all I had already masters degree and I am an international student of around 35 years old. So, I didn't want to continue the course as I had to spend two years attending coursework, in the meanwhile try to clear masters qualifying exam and to grapple with qualifying exam for PhD in the next three years given to me to qualify these exams, before I actually start with my PhD research. They told me that my Masters degree from my country is not recognized, so I have to sit for the MS qualifying exam. Besides, none of the research( mostly experimental) taking place in the school excites me as my interest is in theoretical physics. Moreover, I found difficulty in adjusting to the environment as the university town is bit far away from the city and its mostly ghost town. Due to these various reasons, I eventually lost interest in the program and decided to drop out of the school.