EE and CS bacground, No knowledge of mechanical sytem design,advice pls

In summary, a computer programmer with a background in computer science and electrical engineering is interested in designing systems that incorporate mechanical parts. However, they have no knowledge of mechanical system design and are seeking suggestions for free software tools to help build skills in this area. Some recommendations include reading books on Mechanics and Machine Design, and seeking the assistance of a mechanical engineer or machinist. It is also suggested to visit workshops and industries to see practical applications of concepts.
bineyame
Hi All,

I am a computer programmer who has studied computer science and electrical engineering .It is my desire to combine my programming skill and EE background to design systems that potentially constitute mechanical parts( controlled by circuit and firmware...) .The problem is ,I have no knowledge of mechanical system design and i feel that it is a huge drag in my attempt to learn to do systems design. Please suggest ways ,free software tools,... that can help me build skills in mechanical part of system design.

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
bineyame said:
Hi All,

I am a computer programmer who has studied computer science and electrical engineering .It is my desire to combine my programming skill and EE background to design systems that potentially constitute mechanical parts( controlled by circuit and firmware...) .The problem is ,I have no knowledge of mechanical system design and i feel that it is a huge drag in my attempt to learn to do systems design. Please suggest ways ,free software tools,... that can help me build skills in mechanical part of system design.

Thanks