1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electrical Engineering fields close to Physics

1. Mar 18, 2015 #1
    Hello everyone,

I am a junior year EEE student ( in a South Asian country ) and I will have to declare my thesis topic pretty soon. Anyway, the reason I am here is that I love Physics and want to migrate to something that is more heavy on the theoritical side. Things like particle physics, standard model and quantum mechanics. I am not yet sure if want to completely do a masters/PhD in Physics, but that's something I'm pondering.

What I want to know are fields I can pursue that are closely related to Physics (has plenty of advanced Quantum mechanics, electromagnetic waves and fields and such). One thing I hate is circuits; can't stand it. I know it's ironical, and it's not like I am really bad at it. I just don't like it. So anything else. One field that I've looked up and that I find interesting is Plasma Physics, but I don't know if I'll be accepted from the EEE background, and even if I'm accepted I don't want to end up doing the "Electrical Stuffs" in the research group.

I know I've been quite vague in my questions, but I'm betting on that you guys would understand my problem. Please suggest some fields for me in which I can pursue my Masters/PhD. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2015 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Accelerator physics, detector physics, device physics, plasma physics, and material science.

Zz.

4. Mar 18, 2015 #3

Quantum Defect

Homework Helper
    Gold Member